Add new comment

"I invite actual factual corrections, but please, make sure I actually got the fact wrong first. (Also, incidentally, your point occludes the fact that, on conquest in 1860, the new Westminster-administered polity renamed the name "Quebec", up through at least 1775. This is also addressed in the text.)"

No, uh... Prior to the Constitution of 1867 this region of the Dominion was called "Lower Canada". The Province of Quebec was designated in the Constitution Act, along with several other provinces. Check your history books. As for the "new Westminster polity" not sure what you're referring to, but hopefully not the 1931 Statute of Westminster which confirmed Canada as politically independent (to some level) from the UK.